North Carolina Arts

Artist Profile: Natalie Saragusa

Posted on: December 10, 2010

 

Natalie Saragusa is a senior digital art major at Elon University.

Are you currently in your senior art seminar? What are you working on?
Yes, I’m in senior seminar right now with Michael Fels. We have a really great, dynamic group that sparks awesome conversation, even at 8am. In the accompanying Advanced Projects in Kinetic Imaging class, I’m working on an interactive video installation right now describing the process Burlington-based TS Designs uses to create their sustainable t-shirts, all within North Carolina, “from dirt to shirt”. I’m a publicity intern for them right now, and have gotten really excited about learning how they can grow, harvest, gin, spin, weave, and print a line of shirts all in this state. I want to illustrate this sense of community and nurturing through my next piece, with interactive attributes, maybe including seed planting or miniature models.

What is your formal major?
Digital Art is my formal major, but I’m discovering a whole new world taking me outside of the computer: Eco Art. I’m researching with Samantha DiRosa this semester, contributing to the curriculum-writing for the Ecological Art course being offered for the first time this spring. My goal is to become a greater part of the eco-art and sustainable art movement, and maintain that aesthetic and value in my work from here on out.

This is a logo that Saragusa created for her best friend, Joe Slocum's vice-presidential campaign at Elon University.

If you could describe your art in one word, what would it be?
Playful. I’m still a little kid deep down. I find it impossible to envision myself as an adult. I don’t do dark art. I don’t do sad art. I can’t see the point in dwelling on negativity when positive solutions and optimistic viewpoints can always be found and highlighted no matter what your subject matter is. I think that’s important for artists to remember. Bad things in the world can always be shown from the doom and gloom perspective, but that seems to be the easy way to go. Creative problem solving is very much needed in our world, and artists aren’t just pretty picture makers. We can be activists and educators, too.


How long have you been interested in art?
I have been telling stories and writing books and illustrating since I could hold a crayon.  I am a very narrative-oriented person.  If you sit down with me and let me tell stories all day, I will.  I find that I can relate to just about anyone based on experiences, down to a very intimate level, just by exchanging life stories.  This is very prominent in my art.  I think it’s just an integral part of my personality to attempt to express myself in a non-verbal way.  My friends’ and family’s ears need a break every now and then.

When I applied to Elon, I had no intention of becoming an Art Major.  I aimed to be a part of the Athletic Training program, but that was eliminated and turned into the Exercise Sports Science program in 2007, a major not under the umbrella of the Elon College Fellows program to which I had been accepted.  A little dejected, I was like “Hell, let’s give this art thing a shot.”

Where do you get your inspiration from?
My inspiration comes from dreams a lot of the time.  I have incredibly vivid dreams that I write down in full detail in a very hidden place. My imagination generates millions of ideas and images every day and I hate the fact that I can’t write or draw all of them, but such is life.  Like I was saying, sustainability is something I’ve been working hard to completely integrate into my art, but I also am working towards incorporating it into my lifestyle in my clothing, food, and recreational choices.

People inspiring me right now are eco-artists, like Lillian Ball, who just recently visited Elon last week.  She was awesome, a totally committed activist and artist and community member who does incredible things for plants, animals, AND people.  She’s definitely a mover and a shaker in the environmental world that I look up to.

What would your dream art project be?
I want to build a food co-op/art gallery/sustainable clothing boutique/performance space…all in a tree house. I am going to do it one day.  It’s pretty much my ultimate goal in life.  It encompasses literally everything I’m interested in: local food, community unification, sharing of art, dance and music, fashion, architecture, and being one with nature. I’m very Zen-minded, and developing this beautiful community space in and with the natural world would create a very positive energy and environment to foster these principles and ideas.

What are your plans as an art major following graduation?
I’m moving to California. There’s a lot of support for sustainability out West, not to mention my family has just moved to the San Francisco area, and graduation cannot come fast enough. I don’t want to wish away my senior year, but I’m a go get ’em kind of girl and I want to make changes in the world and create and continue to grow, and in my opinion, the sooner the better.

What would you like to say about the Elon Art Department? How has it prepared you?
These are the greatest people you will ever meet. The faculty is amazing–incredibly talented and supportive, not to mention hilarious and extremely dynamic. We have young, digitally-minded faculty, more experienced, classically minded faculty, and the ideas and conversation you can find floating around the art department are truly engaging, sometimes challenging, and usually wild.  The little family I’ve come to have in the art department fosters my growth and skill building as an artist. Even more importantly, my peers and professors make me a better human being.

Leave a comment